Adesua Etomi Wellington Is On The Cover Of Vogue Magazine's Latest Issue

Adesua Etomi Wellington Is On The Cover Of Vogue Magazine's Latest Issue

Posted on :- 14/03/2019

Award-winning Nigerian actress Adesua Etomi Wellington has landed her first Vogue magazine cover!

The screen star is one of the four women on the cover of American Vogue magazine’s latest issue.

Read below what was written about her on Vogue magazine:

“The Nigerian actress Adesua Etomi-Wellington can’t walk down the street in Lagos without getting mobbed, and if she’s with her husband, the actor Banky Wellington, forget it—a trip to the grocery store launches a thousand selfies.

But unlike some of her cohorts on the shoot, she’s more of a third-culture kid, born in Nigeria and raised mainly in England. (She speaks in two fluent accents—Lagos and the British Midlands.) She went to school in Coventry, studied drama at University of Wolverhampton, and then got a nine-to-five job with the fashion arm of a large supermarket chain. It was then that, as she puts it, “I can’t explain it—I felt I had to go back to Nigeria.”

That was toward the end of 2012, and in the past six years or so she has become one of the biggest stars in Nollywood, Nigeria’s relatively young film industry. The Wedding Party (2016), a colorful and witty romantic comedy in which she plays the lead opposite Wellington, was the highest-grossing film in the history of Nigerian cinema, until it was eclipsed by its sequel, which also starred Etomi-Wellington.

In fact, she points out, of the four films that have done best for the relatively young industry, she is in three. “I love, love, love Nollywood,” Etomi-Wellington says brightly over tea and biscuits at the shoot. “I feel like she’s my baby, and it’s my responsibility, along with a lot of other performers, to grow her.”

The April 2019 issue is tagged “The Global Issue” and has two covers celebrating 14 global superstars of which Etomi is one.

Some other stars who were featured also include: Angelababy (@angelababyct), Doona Bae (@doonabae), #ElizabethDebicki, , Golshifteh Farahani (@golfarahani), #LivLisaFries, Eiza Gonzalez (@eizagonzalez), Hera Hilmar (@herahilmar), #ScarlettJohansson, Vanessa Kirby (@vanessa__kirby), Bruna Marquezine (@brunamarquezine), Deepika Padukone (@deepikapadukone), #AlbaRohrwacher and Lea Seydoux (@leaseydoux_genuine).

Taking to her Instagram page, however, the actress wrote how elated she feels to be given such an honour, she wrote:

“Nigeria to the world. I’m so thrilled to reveal my cover for @voguemagazine’s April issue celebrating this talented group of women from across the globe.

14 global superstars were chosen: Angelababy (@angelababyct), Doona Bae (@doonabae), #ElizabethDebicki, Golshifteh Farahani (@golfarahani), #LivLisaFries, Eiza Gonzalez (@eizagonzalez), Hera Hilmar (@herahilmar), #ScarlettJohansson, Vanessa Kirby (@vanessa__kirby), Bruna Marquezine (@brunamarquezine), Deepika Padukone (@deepikapadukone), #AlbaRohrwacher and Lea Seydoux (@leaseydoux_genuine).

Photographer: Mikael Jansson / @mikaeljansson

Stylist: Camilla Nickerson
My Makeup: Otito Ibeleme / @t.alamodebeauty Hannah Murray / @hannah_murray1

Hair headpieces: Julien d’Ys for Julien d’Ys / @juliendys

Production: North Six and Day International / @northsixproductions and @dayinternational

Florals: Michael George / @michaelgeorgeflowers

Written by Gaby Wood, Vogue, April 2019.”



Article posted by :- Isaac Joseph

on 2019-03-14 16:29:40



Share this post on below social networking platform :-


COMMENTS:-

#ICYMI

Find Us On Facebook